I have historic plates on our 1978 gmc in the state of
Arkansas. It was a one time $14 fee.
Sam c. Turner
I too have the 5 year antique plates..
I get them cause that way I do not have to get an emissions test
The lady at the license bureau told me to get them..RON
Colorado changed their law a couple of years ago. Now it only applies
to 1975 or older EMERY
Colorado used to have a Collector Plate registration available for any
vehicle 25 years of order. That also meant that they would not
have to be smog tested. That was changed on 9/1/09 prior to my
moving to Colorado. The new law said only vehicles 1975 or older
would qualify. That meant that my 1977 would not qualify.
However I learned that the law changed again on 8/7/2013 to allow
vehicles 32 years old or older to get the Collector Plate.
I wish that I had known this last year. I just registered my GMC
yesterday as a collector vehicle.
Although the law says that you have to restrict your annual mileage to
4500 (but they don’t ask for odometer readings).
The advantage is that you only have to renew your plates every 5th year
and you only have to get a smog test every 5 years.
My cost would have been $124 per year plus $15 per year for the smog
test for a total of $695 for the five years. But the collector
plate was $359.14 plus smog of $15 for a cost of $374.14 for 5
years. That is a savings of $320 over the 5 years plus saving the
hassle of getting the annual smog test and waiting in line at the DVM
for the annual registration.
Other Colorado owners might want to consider this.Emery
Here is the CA antique plates stuff, may be of help, since the tags
dont expire, you may not have to smog it.
There are two categories of antique vehicles, or Vehicles of Historic
Value as they're officially tagged.
Anything with 16 or more cylinders manufactured before 1965, or
anything manufactured before or in 1922, is considered a horseless
carriage. You can apply for Horseless Carriage plates.
Vehicles manufactured after 1922 that are at least 25 years old are
considered historic vehicles and are eligible for Historical Vehicle
plates. These vehicles must be of historic interest, meaning that they
are collectible and are used for exhibitions and car club meetings.
Antique Motorcycle plates are also available for motorcycles
manufactured in or before 1942.
Use the Special License Plates form to apply for all of the above
plates. The fee is $25, and as these special plates require extra
documentation, they cannot be ordered online.
The plates don't expire and remain with the vehicle if it changes
You may find something within this site that can be added to your
excellent compilation of antique
Also, there is an Antique
tag. All cars must
be 30 years or older to qualify. No
. We tried to get GMCs ok'd as an exception but no go.
In addition you can apply 'Year Of Issue' tags such as on my Packard.
David Lee Greenberg
here in georgia I was able to get the antique plate, which is nice
because it has a picture of a model-t ford on it. The green Pickle
I have historic plates on our coach. It was a one time $35
Most of the GMC Greatlakers have this type of plate on their coaches.
I just checked the Michigan SOS website.
The deal in Michigan now is:
"Historical vehicle plates are available for $30, and are valid for 10
A Historical vehicle must be:
. 26 or more years old -- based on model year
. Owned solely as a collector's item
. Used only for events such as historical club activities, parades, and
Note: A designated historical vehicle cannot be used for routine
The part about "used only for historical club activities" etc. is what
keeps me from doing it, since going to rallies is about 10% of my GMC
driving. Plus, I'm too chicken to take a chance on getting stopped on
my way to my cottage or some other non club activity and having to lie
to the officer about where I'm headed.
In Michigan (one of the very few things good about this address) there
are two choices.
An Historic (hysterical) plate is 85$ and good for 10 years.
An Authentic (actual plate for the year of manufacture) is also 85$,
but good for as long as it is yours.
There are use restrictions:
The vehicle is only to be driven to/from events, shows and parades or
for repairs, except August, you can drive it all you want.
I don't think that there is a day on the calendar that I could not be
going to a GMC, FMCA, or TCT rally somewhere. It doesn't say I
have to take the
short way. (You mean Yellowstone is not on the way to Chippeaw
Years ago, the powers that be traded the E-10 state mandate for
Inspection and maintenance so we haven't had emissions check here for a
Mississippi antique plates are $40 for lifetime. Apparently no
driving or range restrictions. Many antique plated cars on the
road as daily drivers. Some should be considered "daily wrecks"
looking at their general condition. Require annual inspection
sticker, for $5. Again referring to " daily wrecks", the
inspection is to see if you have $5.
Poor people in a poor State.Tom Phipps
Mo. is a one time fee of 28 bux. No more inspections,
ever, and no more fees. to and from Car show or gatherings, parade, and
a few thousand miles personal a year. I am always on my way to a ralley
or car show.
Montana has what they call "permanent plates". It is on a sliding
scale depending how old the vehicle is. We paid $195 4 years
ago. I believe the
vehicle needs to be at least 20 years old to get them. Of course
in Montana there are no smog inspections for any vehicles. As a
side note, we also
don't have any sales tax. Phil
I got today a set of Nebraska Historic plates for the GMC. $70
they don't expire. No questions or problems getting them from the state
DMV office in Lincoln. The rules as of July 2009 from the DMV website
"Historical plates are provided by the State of Nebraska to
vehicles thirty (30) years old or older that are essentially unaltered
from the original manufacturer's specifications. Two plates are
required and must be displayed on the front and back of the vehicle.
A vehicle licensed with Historical license plates may only be
for test drives, parades and hobby-related activities. Vehicles
registered with Historical license plates may not be used for normal
transportation to and from work, driven on a daily basis, or used for
Thanks for posting this on the net and getting me going on it.Wally Anderson
I just received an email from Mike Morton with a copy of the law
that regulates County taxing using a antique license. I had a
with the county I live in when I changes my 70 Monte Carlo to Antique
License. They increased the value by a factor of 10 because they
it was required by law since it was a "collector item". I called
State Bureau and they laughed about it and said it was not part of the
law. When I faced them again they agreed to reduce the tax, but
doubled it instead. This year they doubled it again. The NC
was adopted in 1995 states "Antique automobiles shall be assessed for
Taxation at a lower of its true value or five hundred dollars($500.00)."
I intend to revisit the tax office again and show this to them and
relicense my GMC as antique and reduce the tax on the Monte Carlo.
GMC is licensed as a van and if any NC person wants to get antique
license you can do it and probably lower your tax base. There are
qualifications but I think most people would qualify. I suspect
are other states that have a similar law so if you are interested,it
might be worth checking out.
- historic plates - one time fee for 50 years - $10.00
The listing for Ohio is accurate but
thought you might like more information. Ohio Revised Code allows for
the issuance of historic plates for vehicles (including motorhomes)
that are 25 years of age or older, the two plates issued must be
displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle. The use of the vehicle
is restricted to special events and is not for daily transportation,
according to the Ohio Highway Patrol any travel to rallies and for
service qualify as legitimate uses of historic plates.
You are allowed to attach and display at least
one state-issued license plate from the year of manufacture and it
must be attached to the rear of the vehicle. If the owner chooses to
display the "year" plate(s) the state-issued historic plates must be
carried in the vehicle to be shown to a law enforcement officer upon
In my case I have a single "House
Vehicle" plate displayed on the rear and carry the historic plates in
the coach per the ORC requirement. "Year" plates are easy to find at
auto swap meets, the going price here is about $10 a pair.
Jim Wagner is the GMCer who put me onto
this deal, the usual annual fee for a motorhome is about $62 per year
so a one-time fee of $10 is a real savings.
was about $81 and
they NEVER EXPIRE! The plate (only 1)
does not have any dates or stickers.
They actually sent me two plates with different numbers but the
registration for only one.
may only be used for exhibitions, parades, club activities and similar
reason to join a GMC club.... There is
almost always something going on SOMEWHERE.
if you have collector plates, no
emissions is required regardless of the vehicles age or location.
find the forms here:
Special Interest Vehicle Declaration for Registration, Form 6577
rigs are all over 25 years old, just Fill in the top row, check box
"B"; and sign/date it.
is for Special Interest Vehicles LESS than 25 years old.
already titled in Oregon, you can mail it...But if you get it person,
DMV office, they will give you a temporary registration. I think it was
total... it is not on the paperwork I have. Mike Miller
I successfully registered my GMC as an
antique but there are restrictions. I am not permitted on provincial
roads with speed limits exceeding 70km/hr unless it is the only route
Some license bureaus may say that RVs are not eligible, so just try
another one. This happened to me so I tried a more rural office and was
Quebec law also requires inspection for any vehicle that has been
unregistered/unloaded for more than 365 days. My coach had been parked
for more than 5 years, and required a safety inspection if registered
through normal channels. A little known loophole in Quebec's vehicle
registration process allowed me to bypass the safety check. This
loophole requires that the vehicle title be transferred to a new owner
with the transaction being done through a used car dealer. The sales
taxes and a small service fee are paid to the dealer based on the value
of the transaction. This paperwork is then brought to a license bureau
and the new title and plates are issued. No inspection and no hassles
over declared vehicle value.
Quebec based insurance companies will often request proof of a safety
inspection as well as a professional evaluation prior to providing
coverage for these old GMCs. Since I am in the process of a full
rebuild and overhaul of all mechanicals and safety related components,
I am not concerned about passing the safety inspection. For new owners
hoping to use a GMC in a more original state, they might encounter
problems getting through a safety check, and the insurance may not
provide anything more than liability coverage.
All things to consider for new owners up here.Les
Knoxville Tenn. today I changed from Handicap tag to permanent Antique tag.
$27.75 registration fee
2.50 issuance fee
36.00 wheel tax (Knox Co)
If I had used Mothers address in Anderson Co. next door (6 miles) it
would have been $29.75
Antique Motor Vehicles.
Per Tennessee Code Ann. § 55-4-111, a person may
register a vehicle as an “antique
motor vehicle” providing that certain requirements
are satisfied. The vehicle:
be a motor vehicle over twenty-five (25) years old,
have a non-modified engine and body,
be used for participation in club activities, exhibits, tours, parades,
and similar uses as a collector’s item,
only be used for general transportation on Saturday and
No renewal required.
This registration is a permanent registration and is not required
to be renewed annually.
The full text and ceritification form are here...
On May 15, 2009 I registered The Colonel here in San Antonio
value of $3000 and it cost me $273.30 for an antique
My registration indicates expiration of 3/2013. I did not have to
have mine weighed as I had with me the paper label from Coachmen
Industries Inc dated 5/77 indicating GVWR of 11,700.
Here are the rules for Texas:
It's $50.53 for 5 years with the cost being prorated out to the year
2013 (all Texas antique
plates expire in the
If you make this a webpage, I would just make it a bunk of links to
each states DOT website rules page.
When I got mine, the person I worked with first wasn't convinced that
RVs were allowed. I had to be a little insistent and got someone
a little more experience to let them know it was OK
Go here for the application: http://tinyurl.com/ycmcyl7
For "body style", use
"grand touring vehicle". GM used that term in some of its promotions
and I used it on my application.
No questions asked. Alternatively, it can be a "1 ton truck" as
some of the bodies were used in commercial service as "trucks".
Further, the vehicle was made by the GMC Truck and Coach Division of
The clerk in Smith County, TX just perfunctorily issued the plate for
my '78 Royale when I applied in 2003. 'Took maybe 3 minutes. Fred
I registered Double Trouble as an antique vehicle on 5/20/2009 at the
tax office at:
7710 Will Clayton Parkway
Humble, TX 77338-5801
As I was transferring it from an out of state registration / title (New
Jersey) I got One Trip Permit and had it:
1) inspected by a garage holding a TDOT license to do so
2) weighed at a public weighbridge (Interstate Scales)
I didn't have any problems.
The Texas Application Receipt notes:
Registration Class: Antique
Plate Type: Antique PLT
Vehicle Identification No: TZE000V000000 Vehicle Classification: PASS
Yr/Make: 1975 GMC Model: AVN Body Style: MH Unit No:
Empty wt: 11100 Carrying Capacity: 0 Gross Weight: 11100
I'd take the easy way out and go to a different office. ROB
Texas antique plates are $50.30 for five years, no smog, no inspection,
Texas Antique Vehicle Provisions:
Antique license plates are issued for cars, trucks or motorcycles that
are at least 25 years old and are a collector's item. The
vehicle must be used exclusively for exhibitions, club activities,
parades or other functions of public interest. Vehicles
displaying Antique plates may not be used for regular transportation or
carry advertising. The vehicle may be driven to and from a
location for routine maintenance.
Antique plates are issued for five-year periods. The registration fee
for the five-year period is $50.30 ($10 per year, plus an
additional 30 cents for the registration insignia) for vehicles
manufactured in 1921 and subsequent years and $40.30 ($8 per year,
plus an additional 30 cents for the registration insignia) for vehicles
manufactured in 1920 and prior years. Fees are reduced
$10/$8 for each year of the period that has elapsed at the time the
application is filed.
For us it is easy to meet the "club activities" requirement as when we
are in the USA for the summers there's always a GMC rally or
convention on somewhere and we note that so if we get stopped (hasn't
happened in seven years of touring) we can show the officer
we're on the way to . . . . . . . . . rally / convention. Once we're
out of Texas it doesn't matter.
Other Texas owners might consider this as well. ROB
As the proud owner of the Virginia Antique
plate number "GMCMH", it was a piece of cake. $50 for lifetime
registration fee, and $10 per year for the "GMCMH". It works for
No annual inspection or emissions. No property tax.
What's not to
I got a lifetime clasic plate for my '76 GMC
and it cost me $45. WAHOO!! never buy plates
to register it as a Collector vehicle.
Issued for vehicles 20 years or
older that have not been altered or modified from
manufacturer's specifications. Must have another vehicle
currently registered. Cannot be operated during the month of January
without a temporary plate.
Cost of the Collector plate is, Non-expiring
one-time $50 application fee plus twice the annual registration fee for
the vehicle type being registered. So, if you already have a
car registered, the cost is 2 X $85 or $170.
If you don't have another
vehicle registered, it is $170 plus the $50 one time fee...or
$220.00...and you never have to register it again. IMO a "good deal"..